Preterist and CI-anyone?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: Preterist and CI-anyone?

Preterist and CI-anyone? 1 year, 11 months ago #3938

• Mcgragor
  • Senior Boarder
Hello,

I'm new, so let me first say I am studying CI and I am not completely convinced (many things I feel are squeezed just a tad to much to fit this belief), but I am very sympathetic to the view and believe (most) who are holding to this are truly using scripture and are not just running from God so to speak.

I'm Reformed and consider myself at least a Partial Preterist when it comes to Eschatology. I'm assuming most know the Preterist position, but if not, here is the best representation in video form that really got me on board-Keep in mind this guy is a Full Preterist, so there are some things I am not sure about, but for the most part, this is an excellent introduction.

youtu.be/jaqaGGRg9Yw

I only put this here because I think a proper view on Matthew 24 and what happened in AD 70 and who the book of Revelation was written to (and for) actually adds a whole lot of merit to the CI view and wanted to see if others are seeing the same thing. Thanks

Re: Preterist and CI-anyone? 1 year, 11 months ago #3939

• Timothew
Mcgragor wrote:
Hello,

I'm new, so let me first say I am studying CI and I am not completely convinced (many things I feel are squeezed just a tad to much to fit this belief...

That statement seems a little bit odd to me, I'm sorry.

When I hear the defenses of Eternal Conscious Torment, the proof-texts are squeezed, twisted, and changed to fit the cherished doctrine. When I hear Biblical Defense of CI, on the other hand, it is like a breath of fresh air. The scriptures are laid out and they state the CI doctrine exactly.

The wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
What is the wages of sin? Death. What is the ECTist response? Death doesn't really mean death.

Whosover believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.