Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Gehenna and bible translations
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: Gehenna and bible translations

Gehenna and bible translations 7 months ago #5080

Dear friends,
As this is my first time Just a short note of encouragement to say how much your work has helped me. My experience has I fear been that of many Christians - I never really thought through the issue of ECT. Hence the absolutely vital importance of your work encapsulated aptly in your name rethinking hell. For many years I paid lip service to the belief of ECT, partially I think to being a member of a traditional church strong on devotion and subjective experience but weak on thinking through issues like this.
The reasons for my change may be of interest to you. I have heard mentioned in your discussions the philosophical argument against ECT. I don't know if my experience can be classed as philosophical but it was when I was experiencing pain - on one occasion being scalded with hot water in the bath!   It just came to my mind the utter cruelty and uselessness of keeping someone in pain or torment for ever.  I then came across your website and this gave me the biblical data I needed to see how wrong this ECT is .  So this is the way I seek to speak to others -to look clinically at the concept of ECT - take it to its logical conclusion and then ask the questions - is this really what the Bible teaches and does this truly represent the character of God revealed in the Bible. That is why the reasons item in the explore section on this website is so important.
Thank you again for your work - let me encourage you to continue  - and the two vital areas that impress me -
first - the gracious manner in which you conduct the debate - this is so vital 
second - your love and commitment to God's word.  These two things under God's hand will surely gain a hearing.