Username Password: Remember me

The Greek definite article and 2 Cor 5:1-10
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: The Greek definite article and 2 Cor 5:1-10

The Greek definite article and 2 Cor 5:1-10 3 weeks, 5 days ago #5240

• timsimmk
  • Junior Boarder
I'm not a Greek expert but I'm interested in how the Greek definite article is used in 2 Cor 5.

The traditional view is that Paul was speaking about the immortal soul being "absent from the body" and being "present with the Lord", and us all being judged for deeds done "in the body". But Thayer's Lexicon says that the article ό, or του in the genitive in this case is sometimes rendered "this".

So my question for people more versed in Greek is, is there any reason why Paul's words cannot be understood in context of resurrection as to be "absent from THIS body" and "to be present with the Lord [in the resurrection body]" and being judged for the deeds done "in THIS body"? Such would seem to agree better with the context and Paul's conviction that the hope of the Christian is resurrection not disembodiment.

Re: The Greek definite article and 2 Cor 5:1-10 1 week, 6 days ago #5244

• John Haak
  • Gold Boarder
I am not the most skilled here in Greek either but since no one has commented let me offer this.

The definite article is used when the author wants to point to a specific person, place, thing or idea represented in that noun. When the definite article is left off the author is pointing to the quality and nature of the thing in a more general way.

Example is in 5:1 ... "...a building of God we have..." no articles on either so it is fair to look at it as "a building-type-of-place of a-God-type we have..." You are meant to focus on the concepts here rather than the thing itself. Like, "we have a place to be at home that is God's kind of place".