Inquiries on Annihilationism

More
2 years 6 months ago #5386 by Simba
Hey there!
I've been studying this topic of Hell for a few months now and have dialogued my conclusions as rejecting the traditionalist view outright. I am, however, intrigued given a few passages of scripture that I'm having trouble overcoming (which generally would support a more traditional view of Hell and Hellfire), so before I state [my questions for the community], I will list my previously mentioned conclusions:

1) Hell is a literal place that exists as God's chosen method of punishing sin,
2) The human soul is NOT immortal, therefore would not experience a conscious life after death of any kind (strangely similar to the Jehova's Witnesses' views on life after death) - chiefly, of a life of eternal torment which having an immortal soul would presuppose,
3) and after physical death, we "fall asleep in death" as Paul and Jesus (and his disciples) both typically described, given my studies.
The most fuzzy of which is such :
4) Lastly, all who died at any point in human history will be resurrected, judged according to either the Law (those alive before the New Covenant) or according to their belief in the Son, Christ (those alive afterward).
a) I still have concerns regarding this point;
- are the fate of those whom were resurrected after Jesus' death on the cross (Matt. 27: 51-53) the same as the literal Lazarus whom Jesus directly resurrected?
- is there a biblical determination for what happened to Enoch & Elijah (who never saw death) and Moses and Elijah (who appeared to Jesus during His transfiguration: is it biblical to assume that these two were not actually there?)
* And, on this topic, what of Samuel's encounter with Samuel (1 Samuel 28): can we conclude as the JWs might that his conversation with what appeared to be Samuel actually simply be a demon masquerading as the spirit of the then-deceased Samuel?